A Teriffic Tuesday

I had a new adventure today.  I also had a regular adventure with a new person and then I had another adventure that I get to have every third Tuesday of the month.  Here’s the list of what I’m grateful for today:

  1. Lunch with a Pink Sister
  2. New experiences
  3. Bunco!

My plastic surgeons office has a patient liaison who sends us emails about other patients who need to connect with her pink sisters who have survived what she is still facing.  One such email was about Denise.  She was ready for her last step scar revision surgery and she was apprehensive about the pain, the process and the outcome.  I emailed her and she answered.  We traded emails for a while and agreed to meet when she was about recovered from this surgery.  Last Thursday night we met in person at a Pink Ladies event.  From there, we set a lunch date for today.  We met at Pei Wei and talked for TWO HOURS!  Well, I talked too much but we had a great conversation.  We even set a date to have lunch again next month.  But for breast cancer, our paths probably never would have crossed.  I am so glad they did cross though because we seem to need each other.  I’m grateful for the lunch and for the patient liaison who brought us together!

After lunch with Denise, I went for a session of vibration sound therapy.  Audrey Stephens is the therapist and she gave us a presentation and mini session at the Pink Ladies event last week.  I was intrigued because I think anything that relaxes my body and settles my mind is probably good for me.  Using quartz and brass bowls and soft end sticks, she made the most delightful noises and placed the vibrating bowls on my feet, my hands, my belly and my head.  I went with a completely open mind and no expectations.  I was so relaxed and peaceful when I finished!!  I thought I might be sleepy but I wasn’t and I felt ready to take on the traffic to get home.  I appreciate Audrey’s caring and compassion and I hope to go back soon.

I love Bunco night!  Twelve of us gather at Dona’s house.  We bring snacks – appetizers, fruit, fast food and most importantly, deserts to eat and then we play the game.  We roll, change tables, break for more food, play some more and then give out some prizes.  We meet at 6:00, finish playing about 8:45, collect our empty dishes and go home.  I’ve been playing with this group for over 5 years.  Some members have come and gone but I love this group very much.  Over the years it has had been mothers and daughters, in-laws and really close friends.  I look forward to it every single month and doubly so in December when we let all the kids over the age of 6 play.  We even have to reserve a room at a pizza parlor to accommodate everyone.  It’s one of my favorite nights of the year!  Bunco is da bomb!

I want serious bonus points for not talking about sewing because I sewed my sailboats together and finished Maxx’s dinosaur quilt top.   But I didn’t talk about it.

Rest well friends.

Leave a comment